Issuers Bolt the Back Door: Inside a Week of Quiet Credit-Card Cuts and Louder Bonuses
Citi quietly replaced its 48-month bonus clock with once-per-lifetime language. Amex pulled two benefits overnight. Chase launched a $350 hotel card with a 200,000-point bonus. These are not separate stories — they are one business model arriving all at once.
October 1 is a quiet date on the loyalty calendar. It is not a program anniversary, not a fiscal boundary anyone outside an issuer's finance department thinks about, and not a day most of us circle. This year it was the busiest day in months.
In a single 24-hour window, Chase launched an entirely new premium hotel card and reworked the three that already existed, American Express ended a lounge partnership and swapped a shipping merchant out of a business card's statement credit, and Amazon's points-redemption promotions reset across two major issuers. Running underneath all of it, discovered on Citi's application pages in the last days of September, was the change with the longest shadow: the welcome-bonus language on Citi's Strata lineup no longer says 48 months. It says you cannot have had the card before.
I want to be careful about what that cluster does and does not mean. Issuers do not coordinate, and most of these changes were in motion for months — the Lufthansa cut was reported back in April. October 1 is simply where a lot of benefit-year boundaries land. But the direction is unmistakable once you line the changes up, and it is the same direction in every case: it is getting harder to earn a welcome bonus twice, slightly less rewarding to hold a card year after year, and considerably more lucrative to open one for the first time.
That is the trade issuers are making, and it is worth understanding on its own terms before deciding how to respond to it. What follows is each change in full, with the specifications spelled out, and then the pattern they add up to.
1. Citi deletes the clock
The most consequential change of the week was never announced. It appeared in terms-and-conditions text on Citi's own application pages, and it concerns three cards: the Citi Strata Elite, the Citi Strata Premier, and the base Citi Strata.
Here is the language that used to govern eligibility on the Strata Premier, which is the card most readers of this site actually hold:
"Bonus ThankYou® Points are not available if you received a new account bonus for a Citi Premier® or Citi Strata Premier® account in the past 48 months…"
And here is what the pages say now:
"New account bonus offer is not available if you currently have or previously had a Citi Strata Premier® or a Citi Premier® account."
The operative words are previously had. The old rule was a waiting period — a door that closed for four years and then opened again. The new rule is not a waiting period at all. There is no interval named in the sentence, because the sentence is not describing one.
What Citi has not said. No press release accompanied this. Citi has published no effective date, which means we cannot tell readers whether an application submitted last week was judged under the old language or the new. Citi also has not clarified how the restriction interacts across the Strata family, and this is where the reporting genuinely splits: Doctor of Credit read the change as blocking bonuses across the lineup, while Upgraded Points read each Strata product as a separate opportunity. Both are careful outlets and both are looking at the same text.
My own read is that the quoted sentence is narrower than the broader interpretation suggests. It names two specific products — Strata Premier and the legacy Citi Premier, which are the same card under two names — and says nothing about Strata Elite or the base Strata. On a plain reading, that is product-line scope, not family-wide scope. But I want to flag clearly that this is an inference from the terms rather than a confirmed fact, and the terms also reserve Citi broad discretion "based on a number of factors, such as your history of opening, closing and using credit cards." That clause does a lot of quiet work.
In fairness to Citi, this is not an outlier move. American Express has operated once-per-lifetime language on most of its lineup for years, and the industry's frustration with serial bonus-earning is not manufactured — an issuer that pays out a 75,000-point bonus every four years to the same customer is running a subscription business at a loss. Citi is also arguably being more honest than the alternative, which is to keep a 48-month rule on paper and quietly deny applications through internal scoring. A stated restriction you can plan around is better than an unstated one you cannot.
The practical read. Enforcement is the open question, and history offers some comfort: Amex's "once per lifetime" has in practice behaved more like five to seven years for many cardholders, and Citi's systems have historically approved applications while simply withholding the bonus from ineligible applicants. So "lifetime" may prove softer than the word suggests.
But you cannot plan on that. If a Strata card has been sitting on a someday list, the calculus has changed: the cost of waiting is no longer four years of patience, it is potentially the entire bonus, permanently. And given the unresolved scope question, the sequencing matters more than it used to — apply for the Strata card you want most first, rather than assuming you can collect all three over time.
2. Chase builds IHG a premium tier — and sends the bill to everyone else
The loudest news of the week is a new card. Chase and IHG introduced the IHG One Rewards Premier Select Credit Card at a $350 annual fee, with a welcome offer of 200,000 bonus points after $5,000 in purchases in the first three months. That offer ends November 18, 2026 — a genuine deadline, not an evergreen rate, which is unusual enough to note.
The benefits package is dense, and it is worth itemizing because the math only works if you read it closely:
Up to $300 in annual Food & Beverage Rewards at IHG properties
A $200 annual airline statement credit
Up to $50 in United TravelBank Cash
An anniversary free night with a 60,000-point redemption cap
Automatic Platinum Elite status
20 Elite Night Credits annually, plus 2 additional per $5,000 spent
Fourth Reward Night Free on consecutive four-night award stays
Earning of up to 28X on IHG stays, 6X on dining and travel, 3X on everything else
Run the credits alone and the card defends itself on paper: $300 in food and beverage plus $200 in airline credit plus $50 in TravelBank is $550 of stated value against a $350 fee, before the free night and before any points are earned. The honest caveat is that credits of this kind are worth their face value only to someone whose travel already runs through those channels. The $300 F&B credit requires eating at IHG properties, which is a real constraint if your IHG stays are Holiday Inn Express rather than InterContinental.
Now the part Chase did not lead with. The entire existing lineup was reworked at the same time, and for current cardholders the news is mostly fee increases.
Card
Old fee
New fee
Change
Status
Welcome offer
IHG One Rewards Premier Select
— (new)
$350
New product
Platinum Elite
200,000 pts / $5,000 in 3 mo.
IHG One Rewards Premier
$99
$150
+$51 (+52%)
Platinum → Gold
180,000 pts / $3,000 in 3 mo.
IHG One Rewards Business
$99
$200
+$101 (+102%)
Platinum retained
190,000 pts / $5,000 in 3 mo.
IHG One Rewards (no fee)
$0
$0
None
—
125,000 pts / $2,000 in 3 mo.
The Premier is the one to watch. Its fee rises 52% and its complimentary elite status drops a full tier from Platinum to Gold. Chase did add benefits to soften it — $100 in Food & Beverage Rewards, a $100 airline statement credit, an improved anniversary free night with a 50,000-point cap, and 15 Elite Night Credits annually — and on raw arithmetic, $200 of new credits against a $51 fee increase is a favorable trade for anyone who uses them. But a status downgrade is not a credit, and it cannot be papered over with one. Gold is a meaningfully thinner tier than Platinum.
On timing, Chase has been reasonable: the new benefits and earning rates are available immediately, while the annual fee increases take effect in 2027, and existing cardmembers receive notification this month. Nobody is being charged more without warning.
If you don't hold an IHG card: the Premier Select's 200,000 points is the largest piece of genuinely new value in this entire article, and November 18 is close. The no-fee card's 125,000-point offer is also unusually strong for a product with no annual cost.
If you already hold the Premier: wait for the October notification letter and make the call at renewal. You are being asked to pay 52% more for a lower status tier, offset by credits that are only worth something if your IHG stays include restaurants and your travel includes airline incidentals. For a lot of people that math will still work. For occasional IHG guests, it will not.
One stacking note worth knowing: Elite Night Credits from multiple IHG cards stack, which opens access to Milestone Rewards at thresholds that are otherwise hard to reach without heavy travel. A Premier Select at 20 credits plus a Business at 15 is 35 nights before you sleep anywhere.
3. Sapphire Reserve turns ten, and hands you a scavenger hunt
The Sapphire Reserve launched in 2016 and promptly broke the premium card market; Chase famously ran out of metal stock. Ten years later it carries a $795 annual fee, and the anniversary package that went live October 1 is best understood as Chase answering the question that fee raises.
The headline change is permanent and simple. The monthly DoorDash credit tripled from $5 to $15, and it is no longer restricted to restaurants — it now applies to any DoorDash order, including grocery and retail. Stacked with the card's complimentary DashPass membership and the two existing $10 monthly non-restaurant promotions, the ceiling is $35 a month, or $420 a year, which is more than half the annual fee in a single benefit. The DashPass membership must be activated by December 31, 2029.
The temporary piece is larger and much easier to miss. Chase loaded five limited-time travel credits worth $1,050 in total:
Offer
Minimum spend
Credit back
Deadline
IHG Hotels stay
$500
$125
October 16, 2026
Miraval or Alila resort
$1,000
$250
December 14, 2026
JSX flights
$200
$200
December 14, 2026
Sixt car rental
$500
$125
December 14, 2026
Wander vacation homes
$1,500
$350
December 14, 2026
Every one of these requires activation in your Chase account and payment directly with the merchant — not through the Chase Travel portal. That distinction is the whole ballgame. An unactivated credit is worth exactly zero, and these are not automatic.
Two of them carry eligibility restrictions for existing cardmembers — the IHG and Sixt offers — so check your own account rather than assuming the full $1,050 is available to you. The JSX offer is the standout on pure ratio: $200 back on $200 of spend is a free flight on a semi-private carrier, assuming JSX serves a route you want.
Chase also launched a contest with a 5.5 million-point grand prize and nine finalist prizes of 500,000 points each, entered by posting about a favorite trip taken since 2016, with a public voting phase determining the winner. I mention it mostly for completeness. A contest is marketing, not a benefit, and 5.5 million points is a number designed to be screenshotted rather than won.
The strategic read. Chase's bet with the Reserve has always been that a high fee is defensible if the credits are rich enough. The risk in that model is breakage — cardholders who pay $795 and claim $300 of value, then cancel in year two feeling cheated. This anniversary package is Chase pushing hard against breakage: the DoorDash change is automatic once activated and recurs monthly, which is the kind of benefit people actually use, as opposed to a travel credit that requires planning a trip.
The five travel offers are the opposite — high-value and high-friction, and most cardholders will claim none of them. If you hold the card, the single highest-return action available to you this week is logging into your Chase account and activating all five, which takes about five minutes. Then book against the IHG one first, because October 16 is two weeks away while the rest run to mid-December.
4. The one case where spending points at Amazon is smart
I spend a fair amount of time telling people not to redeem transferable points at Amazon. Membership Rewards and ThankYou Points both cash out there at roughly one cent each — the floor of what those currencies are worth, and a fraction of what they fetch through airline and hotel partners.
That changes when the discount is triggered by a single point, and that is exactly what reset on October 1.
American Express is targeting cardholders with one of two Shop with Points offers at Amazon: 50% off up to $50 for those who have not previously redeemed Membership Rewards there, or 15% off up to $15 for those who have. Both run through December 31, 2026.
Citi is running a parallel promotion at 40% off up to $50 for ThankYou cardholders, also through December 31.
The mechanism is what matters. These are percentage discounts unlocked by applying points at checkout, not conversions priced in points. Comparable past promotions have triggered on as few as 714 to 1,429 points — Amazon's current announcement does not state the minimum, which is a real gap in the terms and one you should verify in your own account before counting on it. But the principle holds: if a single point or a small handful unlocks $50 off a purchase you were already making, you are not redeeming points badly. You are getting a cash discount and paying a trivial points toll for it.
The arithmetic is worth seeing plainly. Redeem 1,429 Membership Rewards points at the normal Amazon rate and you get about $14.29 of merchandise — a poor outcome. Redeem those same 1,429 points to trigger a 50% discount capped at $50, and you have converted them into $50 of value, or roughly 3.5 cents per point. That is better than most airline redemptions, and it requires no award availability, no transfer, and no one-way commitment.
Timing. Prime Big Deal Days runs October 6–7, beginning 12:01 a.m. Pacific on the 6th. The offers themselves run through December 31, so there is no need to rush for the deadline — but if you were planning to buy something during the sale anyway, the discount and the sale stack, and that is the best version of this.
Two cautions. First, both offers are targeted, so not every account will see them; check the Amex and Citi portals directly rather than assuming eligibility. Second, and more important: apply the minimum number of points, not the maximum. The discount is the prize here. Dumping a large points balance into Amazon to "use up" the offer converts a good deal back into the bad one it started as.
5. Amex trims two edges
Neither of these is a headline on its own. Together they are a useful illustration of how benefit erosion actually happens — not in dramatic devaluations, but in small subtractions at the margins of a benefits page.
The Lufthansa lounges are gone. As of October 1, American Express ended its Lufthansa lounge access arrangement. The specifics matter, because the benefit was tiered:
Amex Platinum cardholders lost access to Lufthansa Business Lounges when flying economy, and Senator Lounges when flying business class.
Centurion members lost access to the First Class Lounges in Frankfurt and Munich, which had been available regardless of cabin.
The Frankfurt and Munich First lounges are among the genuinely excellent lounge products in the world, and Centurion access to them without a first-class ticket was one of the more remarkable perks in the premium card market. Its loss is the real story here, even though it affects a small number of people.
For Platinum holders transiting Germany, the fallback is Priority Pass, which may offer an alternative at the same airport depending on terminal — worth checking before you travel rather than discovering at the gate. Actual Lufthansa or Star Alliance status still provides direct access, independent of any card.
In Amex's defense, the cut was telegraphed back in April, and lounge partnerships expire for reasons that are often the airline's rather than the issuer's. Lufthansa has been managing serious crowding, and ending a deal that sends economy passengers into business lounges is defensible from Frankfurt's side of the table.
FedEx is out, UPS is in. The second change is smaller but has a trap in it. The American Express Business Gold Card's $240 Flexible Business Credit dropped FedEx as an eligible merchant effective October 1 and replaced it with UPS.com shipments. The three eligible categories are now:
Grubhub
U.S. office supply stores
UPS.com shipments
The credit remains up to $20 per month, $240 per year. Two details are easy to get wrong. First, enrollment is required — this does not activate on its own, and a Business Gold holder who never enrolled has been leaving $240 a year unclaimed regardless of this change. Second, the $20 monthly cap is the total across all three categories, not $20 at each. There is no stacking.
If you were routing the credit through FedEx, it is now dead weight, and shipping spend needs to move to UPS.com to keep capturing it. If you were using Grubhub or office supply, nothing changes for you — but confirm your enrollment anyway, since benefit changes are a common moment for enrollments to need refreshing.
Swapping one shipping carrier for another is close to neutral on paper. Whether it is neutral for you depends entirely on which carrier your business already uses — exactly the kind of change that looks small in a press release and costs a specific subset of cardholders real money.
6. The pattern underneath
Put the five changes side by side and a single trade shows through.
On the acquisition side, the offers are extraordinary — 200,000 points on a $350 hotel card, 125,000 on a card with no annual fee at all. An issuer paying 200,000 IHG points for $5,000 of spend is buying a customer at a price that only makes sense if that customer stays for years.
On the retention side, every change runs the other way. A fee up 52% with status down a tier. A lounge partnership ended. A shipping merchant swapped. And most consequentially, a bonus clock deleted — because the 48-month rule was, in effect, a promise that a good customer could be re-acquired on favorable terms every four years. Citi just stopped making that promise.
That is the model: pay enormous sums once, then let the relationship earn its own keep. It is a rational response to a decade in which a sophisticated minority of cardholders learned to treat welcome bonuses as a renewable crop. The issuers noticed. What they are building now is a market where the first bite is bigger than it has ever been and there is no second bite.
This is not purely hostile to readers of this site. A once-per-lifetime regime funding 200,000-point offers may leave a disciplined cardholder better off than a four-year regime funding 80,000-point offers — the lifetime value is simply front-loaded and far less forgiving. What it punishes is not sophistication. It punishes delay.
Three practical consequences follow.
Sequencing now matters more than selection. When bonuses recycled every four years, picking the wrong card first cost you some time. When they do not recycle, the order you apply in is close to permanent. That argues for mapping a multi-year application plan rather than chasing whatever offer is elevated this month — and for applying to the highest-ceiling card in a family first, which is precisely the open question hanging over Citi's Strata lineup.
Unclaimed credits are now the main source of waste. The Sapphire Reserve's $1,050 in anniversary offers and the Business Gold's $240 credit have the same failure mode: they require enrollment, and nothing happens if you skip it. As issuers push more value into activation-gated credits and less into automatic benefits, the gap between the cardholder who logs in monthly and the one who does not widens into real money.
Read the terms, not the headline. Every meaningful change this week lived in fine print. The Citi rewrite was never announced at all. The Business Gold cap is per account, not per merchant. The Sapphire Reserve credits require booking direct rather than through the portal Chase otherwise pushes you toward. None of that is deceptive, exactly — but none of it is advertised either, and the difference between a good year and a mediocre one with these cards is mostly made in those details.
The best opportunity and the biggest risk
The single best opportunity is the IHG One Rewards Premier Select's 200,000-point welcome offer. It is the largest piece of genuinely new value created this week, it requires $5,000 of spend rather than any particular travel pattern, and it expires November 18. Even discounting the benefits package heavily for people who rarely eat at IHG properties, 200,000 points plus a 60,000-point anniversary night is a return that justifies a $350 fee in year one by a wide margin.
The single biggest risk is sitting on a Citi Strata application. Everything else in this article recurs. Transfer bonuses come back, elevated offers return, lounge partnerships get replaced. A welcome bonus governed by once-per-lifetime language does not come back. If a Strata card belongs in your portfolio eventually, "eventually" is now a decision with a permanent cost attached — and the unresolved question of whether the restriction spans the whole Strata family makes the order you apply in matter as much as the timing.
A note on verification
I verify every offer, ratio, and date against the issuer's own materials where I can, and I tell you plainly where I could not. For this piece:
Confirmed against official sources. The IHG card lineup — the Premier Select's $350 fee, 200,000-point offer, $5,000 spend requirement, November 18 end date, benefits, and the fee and status changes across the Premier, Business, and no-fee cards — is confirmed against Chase's own newsroom release.
Quoted terms, no official announcement. The Citi Strata language is quoted from terms live on Citi's application pages as reported by multiple outlets. Citi has issued no announcement and published no effective date, and reporting conflicts on whether the restriction applies across the Strata family or only to the Strata Premier and legacy Citi Premier product line. I have given my reading of the text above and labeled it as a reading. Treat the scope as unresolved.
Corroborated but not issuer-confirmed. The Sapphire Reserve anniversary credits, the Amazon Shop with Points offers, the Lufthansa lounge withdrawal, and the Business Gold merchant swap are each corroborated across multiple independent outlets, but I was unable to load Amex's own benefit page for the Flexible Business Credit during reporting, so the eligible-merchant list, the enrollment requirement, and the per-account cap rest on secondary reporting rather than Amex's published terms.
Specific gaps. Amazon's announcement does not state the minimum points required to trigger the Shop with Points discounts; past comparable offers ranged from 714 to 1,429 points, but the current figure is unconfirmed. Chase has not published which existing cardmembers are excluded from the IHG and Sixt anniversary offers, only that restrictions exist. Citi's effective date for the Strata change is unknown.
Check your own account terms before acting on any offer here. Where this article and an issuer's page disagree, the issuer's page governs.
— Izzy Hernandez, Founder, The Upgrade Life